Gemma Cruickshank Wins Miss BBW International 2012 — And I’m Applying For 2013!

Courtesy of Gemma Cruickshank and Miss BBW International

Up until about 12 hours ago I had no idea that such a thing even existed — beauty pageants for plus-size women?  You must be kidding me.

I got home after my first ever professional photo shoot (photos to come in a week!) and I suppose I was sort of in a “wow I want to be a model” kind of head-space.  I mean, I don’t really want to be a model…I just really enjoyed getting my picture taken (no intent of vanity!).  I started Googling “plus-size” for the umpteenth time, and there it was…”Gemma Cruickshank Crowned Miss BBW 2012.”  I thought I’d died and gone to chunky girl heaven.  Have I been in some sort of bubble for the past few years because I’d never heard of a plus-size pageant?

Miss BBW International brings together plus-size women who are at least a U.S. size 14, U.K. 18, to show off their beautiful bods and personalities proudly.  The pageant selects pudgy princesses who don’t succumb to the media’s skinny-centric pressures, and gives them a non-judgmental, pro-plus-size environment where they can really shine, and really show off every inch of their big, beautiful and bold selves.

Cruickshank, the 22-year-old, size 22 (U.K.) English babe was the winner this year.  Her gorgeous aesthethic, “big is beautiful” motto and the fact that she’s set up her own plus-size clothing line Gemma Cruickshank Collexions got her the crown and what I imagine a warm place in the hearts of loads of plus-size women searching for someone to look up to.

Courtesy of Gemma Cruickshank and Miss BBW International

Because I love my pudge and curves, because I love clothes, because I love writing about the BBW world…and, well, because I REALLY enjoyed that photo shoot yesterday, I’m going to send an application for the 2013 pageant (and I encourage all you fellow plus-size lovelies to do so as well).  I just can’t imagine the experience being anything other than incredible — it’s a chance to meet dozens of plus-size women who are not only beautiful, but actually know they’re beautiful, and go against media stereotypes and traditional 0-4 beauty pageants to form a unique, jiggle-filled society.  Who knows if I’ll be considered, but even if not, the application is at least another chance to write about why I love my body, why I want to inspire other plus-size women to love their bodies and why I think my body/face/mind/personality are a fit for this kind of competition. The thing is, if I get rejected I won’t really mind.  I’m still so thrilled to discover that this pageant exists.  If I get accepted, I’ll still be thrilled because I have no doubt I’ll make some pretty great and equally pro-plus-size friends.  AND I’ll get to see all of them in revealing getups…oh, and all this would happen in England!  There’s really no downside to the equation.

12 comments

  1. Amparo

    Good morning Princess. Great article, enjoyed reading your work. Have you received any news in the application? I wish you lots of luck, you are perfect for this. Amazing girl! Love u

  2. Pingback: My Detestation Of The “Spam” Folder | Big&Beautiful&Bold

  3. Pingback: A Chat With Gemma Cruickshank | Big, Beautiful and Bold

Leave a Reply

