Maria In Wonderland

The winter wonderland photo shoot continues with a set of myself in the same magical woods as the previous post.  This time, however, we’ve classed it up a bit and added a delicious cherry bakewell tart.

Now, I know one of the “what not to wear” rules for plus-size women involves not mixing different patterns.  I believe this is a rule because supposedly combining textures or patterns makes you look bigger.  But I’ve never much enjoyed following these rules, and I don’t at all mind if something makes me look chunkier than I am.  Quite frankly, my goal when I get dressed isn’t to find things that make me look thinner, but things that I like and think look good.  So as you can see, the top, skirt and tights are each their own pattern, and I must admit I love this outfit.  Perhaps it makes me look even more voluptuous, and perhaps this is actually why I like it to begin with.  I think emphasizing one’s curves and plus-size body is a beauty thing — perhaps this is also why I’ve included photos of myself eating a sugary tart.

Ice Princess

oldedit1

nose4

IMG_0153

IMG_0160

IMG_0159

IMG_0157

IMG_0145

IMG_0164

IMG_0174

IMG_0148

IMG_0147

Marie Southard

IMG_0192

IMG_0196

nose1

nose5

IMG_0185

IMG_0141

IMG_0114

IMG_0156

IMG_0127

IMG_0129

IMG_0132

nose2

For Something Similar:

Top: Next

Skirt and Knee-High Socks: Urban Outfitters

Tights, Gloves and Necklace: H&M

Fur Coat: Vintage/Thrift/Antique Shop

Boots: Macy’s

Lipstick and Eyeliner: MAC Cosmetics

3 comments

  1. Elizabeth Saucier

    I think I like this outfit better than the first actually. I don’t think that it makes you look big at all. The whole ensemble goes very nicely with the background, creating an almost Snow Queen look (not sure if that is the right description, but it is the first one that popped into my head). The paleness of the outfit emphasizes the red of your cheeks, and lips and makes your eyes bright and you look like you are thoroughly enjoying the tart 🙂

    • Hehe I have been getting the “snow/ice queen” comment a lot. I also got a “Snow White” comment, which may’ve been my favorite! Thanks for your comment 🙂 and the tart was indeed amazing.

Leave a Reply

