Chocolate, Candy And Cake

Jupiterimages, Getty

Jupiterimages, Getty

I realize I have posted several times today without making any mention of Valentine’s Day.  This is primarily because I don’t usually bother much with it.  Whether I’m in a relationship or not, I don’t see the point of setting one day aside each year to be especially loving and romantic to your partner.  In my opinion, these traits of affection should be demonstrated every day, cheesy as that may sound.  But what I do like about this holiday is the surplus of chocolate, candy and cake that seems to materialize out of thin air.  It’s all simply everywhere!  Having the sweet tooth that I do, this makes me very, very happy.

My request to you all, though Valentine’s Day is coming to a close, is not to count calories today.  Don’t worry about how many pieces of chocolate you’re eating from the over-sized box your boyfriend gave you.  Just eat it all and enjoy!  Do you see how miserable the woman in the picture looks? You do not want to be that woman.  I’m not saying the fruit salad doesn’t look appetizing — sure, I guess it looks pretty enough.  But if the option is between a bowl of fruit and a slice of cake, just eat the cake.  Today of all days, just let yourself make use of those taste buds.

3 comments

  1. Elizabeth Saucier

    I agree that love and affection should be demonstrated every day but I like Valentine’s Day as a day to go even a little above and beyond. A day to go a little overboard. Personally I would pick the fruit salad, not for health reasons, but because I just love fruit and I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. Though I realize that the point of your article is to just enjoy the day and not to agonize over what to eat or not to eat.

Leave a Reply

